Gold Medallists

Anna-Maria Belli; London/UK

Professor Anna-Maria Belli is professor of interventional radiology at St. George’s Hospital in London, UK.

Luis Donoso-Bach; Barcelona/Spain

Professor Luis Donoso-Bach has been chairman of the diagnostic imaging department at the Hospital Clínic of Barcelona and professor of radiology at the University of Barcelona since 2006.

Valentin E. Sinitsyn; Moscow/Russia

Professor Valentin Sinitsyn is chair of radiology and head of the Radiology Department at the medical faculty of Moscow Lomonosov State University, Moscow.

All Gold Medallists

Honorary Members

Michael G. Kawooya; Kampala/Uganda

Professor Michael G. Kawooya is professor emeritus in the Department of Radiology at the School of Medicine, Makerere University, and College of Health Sciences in Kampala, Uganda. 

Federico G. Lubinus; Bucaramanga/Colombia

Professor Federico G. Lubinus is full professor of radiology and director of the radiology residency programme at the Autonomous University of Bucaramanga (UNAB) in Colombia.

Vijay M. Rao; Philadelphia, PA/USA

Professor Vijay M. Rao, MD, FACR is the David C Levin Professor and Chair of the Department of Radiology at Thomas Jefferson University.

All Honorary Members

Honorary Lecturers

Regina G.H. Beets-Tan; Amsterdam/The Netherlands

Professor Regina Beets-Tan chairs the Department of Radiology at the Netherlands Cancer Institute in Amsterdam. She is full professor of radiology at the University of Maastricht and adjunct professor of abdominal and oncological radiology at the University of Southern Denmark.

S. Nahum Goldberg; Jerusalem/Israel

Professor S. Nahum Goldberg is full professor of radiology at Hadassah Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel and visiting professor of radiology at Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA. 

Paul S. Sidhu; London/UK

Professor Paul Sidhu is professor of imaging sciences at King’s College London and a consultant radiologist in the Department of Radiology at King’s College Hospital.

All Honorary Lecturers

Boris Rajewsky Medallists

(former EAR)


Prof. L. Bonomo, IT • Prof. G. Frija, FR • Prof. N. Gourtsoyiannis, GR • Prof. I.W. McCall, UK


Dr. G. Hurley, IE • Prof. G. van Kaick, DE


Prof. M. Blery, FR • Prof. R. Rienmüller, AT


Prof. T. Pirnar, TR

All Boris Rajewsky Medallists

In Memoriam

George Schuyler (1927 - 2017)

It is with deep sadness that the ESR Board of Directors and ESR staff announces the passing of former RSNA Director of Scientific Meetings and Educational Materials, George Schuyler, at the age of 89.

Schuyler played a crucial role in the evolution of the modern RSNA, including masterminding the move to McCormick Place, and his priceless contribution was justly recognised with the society’s Gold Medal in 1988. He also played a huge part in establishing the structure of the ECR under the leadership of Prof. Josef Lissner and later Prof. Albert Baert. His tireless hard work, famous efficiency and ingenuity were recognised by the ESR with the presentation of a special Distinguished Service Award at ECR 2004.  

The ESR would like to pass on our most heartfelt condolences to all his friends and family. He will be sorely missed by us all.

More In Memoriam