March 2013

In recognition of his groundbreaking work in the field of diagnostic radiology and his dedication to educating the next generation of radiologists, Professor George Simpson Bisset III will be awarded Honorary Membership of the European Society of Radiology at ECR 2013.

George Simpson Bisset III serves as chief of paediatric radiology at Texas Children’s Hospital and Edward B. Singleton Professor of Radiology at Baylor College of Medicine.

Prof. Bisset began his studies at the University of Tennessee, before returning to his native Florida, where he received his medical degree from the University of South Florida in 1975. He then went on to complete his residency in paediatrics at the Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, Ohio, where he later carried out a fellowship in cardiology, a residency in radiology, and a fellowship in paediatric radiology. Before taking up his current post, Prof. Bisset had already built up a great deal of experience during his career, having not only worked as a radiologist in a number of hospitals, but also as a consultant cardiologist.

As a result of his work in paediatric cardiology and radiology, Prof. Bisset has received a number of honours during his career. At the International Paedatric Radiology Congress in 2001, his manuscript received the John A. Caffey Award. He has also been appointed a Fellow of the American College of Radiology, an Honorary Member of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, and an honorary member of both German and Austrian national radiological societies.

During his career, Prof. Bisset has shown a great deal of dedication to research and the development of his discipline. With a total of 125 articles published in peer-reviewed journals and more than 20 book chapters, he has written and researched extensively on the subjects of paediatrics, cardiology and radiology.

Prof. Bisset is an active member of many radiological societies, including the American College of Radiologists and the Society for Pediatric Radiology. He is a long-time member of the Radiological Society of North America and is the immediate past president of the society. In 2012, as RSNA President, he strengthened the society’s focus on patient care, choosing ‘patients first’ as the theme of the society’s most recent congress.