March 2015

In recognition of her major achievements in the field of neuroradiology and her commitment to education and cooperation in radiology, Professor Ann G. Osborn from Salt Lake City, US, will be awarded Honorary Membership of the European Society of Radiology at ECR 2015.

Anne G. Osborn is Distinguished Professor of Radiology at the University Of Utah School of Medicine in Salt Lake City. She also holds the William H. and Patricia W. Child Presidential Chair in Radiology at the University of Utah.

Prof. Osborn received her Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology and her Medical degree from Stanford University in California, where she also completed her residency in diagnostic radiology. She joined the faculty at the University of Utah’s School of Medicine in 1974, spending her first three years as a James Picker Advance Academic Fellow in Neuroradiology. She has also served as a visiting professor at many of the world’s premier medical institutions including Harvard, Stanford, Johns Hopkins and the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.

A renowned neuroradiologist, Prof. Osborn has authored several texts considered to be definitive references in her field. Her latest comprehensive textbook, Osborn’s Brain, won the 2013 American Medical Writers Association award for Best Book Written by a Physician.

The first woman to be elected president of the American Society of Neuroradiology, Prof. Osborn has received numerous awards, including honorary membership from a number of international radiology professional societies, the Marie Curie Award from the American Association of Women in Radiology, the Gold Medal from the Chicago Radiological Society, the Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence, the Distinguished Service Award from the University of Utah, the 2002 Béclère Medal from the International Society of Radiology, the 2003 gold medal from the American Society of Neuroradiology, and the Magna Cum Laude Scientific Exhibit Award from the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA).

In November, 2000 she was named the first-ever recipient of the RSNA’s Outstanding Educator Award. She has also received gold medal awards from the RSNA, the Asian-Oceanian Congress of Radiology, the Federation of Mexican Societies of Radiology and Imaging, the Turkish Society of Radiology, and the Hong Kong College of Radiologists, as well as being named an honorary founding member of the Russian Society of Neuroradiology in 2012.

At ECR 2015 Prof. Osborn will receive Honorary Membership of the European Society of Radiology.