August 2020

In recognition of her tremendous contribution to advancing radiology and particularly breast imaging, Professor Valerie P. Jackson from Tucson, Arizona, will receive ESR Honorary Membership at ECR 2020.

Valerie P. Jackson, MD, FACR, is the Eugene C. Klatte Professor Emeritus of Radiology at Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. She is the current President of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) and Executive Director of the American Board of Radiology (ABR), where she served on the board of trustees from 2001 to 2010.

Professor Jackson graduated from Indiana University School of Medicine in 1978, where she went on to complete her radiology residency in 1982 and served on the faculty in numerous roles until 2014. She was notably Chair of Indiana University (IU) Radiology from 2003 to May 2014.

Professor Jackson has been involved in research, education and national service for many years, primarily in the areas of breast imaging and radiology education. She has authored more than 110 publications and numerous book chapters. She was an author and editor for two editions of Diagnosis of Diseases of the Breast, a major textbook on breast imaging. She has given more than 500 presentations on breast imaging, education, and leadership.


Professor Jackson has served as a manuscript reviewer for numerous journals, including American Journal of Roentgenology, Journal of the American College of Radiology, Investigative Radiology, Medical Physics, Academic Medicine, and Radiology, where she served as associate editor on the editorial board from 1989 to 1998, and as a consultant to the editor in 1999.

She is a past president of the Society of Breast Imaging (SBI) and the American College of Radiology (ACR). She has been awarded gold medals by the Indiana Radiological Society, SBI, ACR, and the Association of University Radiologists.