August 2022

Following the highly successful ESR Seed Grant Initiative in 2020 and the recent announcement of the awardees for 2022, the European Society of Radiology (ESR), in cooperation with the European Institute for Biomedical Imaging Research (EIBIR), is pleased to announce that we are going global!

Applications are invited for the new ESR Research Seed Grant Global initiative 2022, which has been kindly supported by an unrestricted, non-exclusive grant from Siemens Healthineers.

The purpose of this programme is to stimulate and provide funding for innovative projects and pilot studies that will subsequently lead to larger studies and further funding applications.

  • Funding for up to 3 grantees for 2 years
  • Max. funding amount per project: EUR 14,000 (i.e. 7,000 per year)

The Call for Proposals is open to researchers of all ages working in a radiology department in an Eastern European, Central Asian, or African country*. Applicants must be members of the European Society of Radiology. The project proposed should not have previously received funding from another grant or form part of another ongoing project application.

Project proposals must align with the ESR Research Seed Grant Global thematic areas. The funding priorities for the ESR Research Seed Grant Global Initiative 2022 are for:

  • Enhancing quality in radiological imaging and interventional radiology 
    (e.g. radiation protection, protocol optimisation, standardisation of imaging/reporting, quality assurance, clinical audit, safety, etc.)
  • Value based radiology
    (e.g. health care evaluation, optimal/efficient imaging strategies, patient experiences/preferences/outcomes, cost-effectiveness, diagnostic accuracy, comparison of modalities, etc.)

The focus will be on (but not limited to) research in ultrasound, CT, and conventional imaging. For further details, please see the EIBIR website.

* All African countries, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.

Apply here!