October 2016

In recognition of his dedication to scientific research and development, Professor Luis Martí-Bonmatí has been invited by the European Society of Radiology to present the Santiago Ramón y Cajal Honorary Lecture, ‘Research and science: from individuals to societies – the Ramón y Cajal background,’ at ECR 2013.

Luis Martí-Bonmatí is director of medical imaging at La Fe University and Polytechnic University Hospital, and chief of radiology at Quirón Hospital, Valencia, Spain. He is also professor of radiology at Valencia University.

After completing his undergraduate medical training at the University of Valencia in 1983, Prof. Martí-Bonmatí worked as a resident at La Fe University Hospital Valencia until 1987. He then began work on his Ph.D. thesis, ‘MRI in the study and characterisation of focal liver lesions’, which earned him a doctorate with excellence from the University of Valencia in 1990.

As a researcher, Prof. Martí-Bonmatí’s interests lie mainly in the fields of liver MR and CT, abdominal and pelvic MRI, contrast agents, image processing, and imaging biomarkers. With more than 200 articles listed in PUBMED and 55 book chapters to his name, he is an established scientific author. As an editor he has contributed to eight books. He has also supervised twenty-two Ph.D. students, and has delivered hundreds of presentations at scientific meetings, symposia, and international conferences.

On top of his work as a clinician and academic, Prof. Martí-Bonmatí has also been engaged in strengthening international ties within the field of radiology. He is an active member of many European scientific societies and has served as president of the Spanish Society of Radiology, the European Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and Biology and the Spanish Society of Abdominal Imaging. In addition to these presidencies, he has served as vice-president of the European Society of Gastrointestinal and Abdominal Radiology.

He is a long-time member of the European Society of Radiology and currently serves as chairman of the society’s Research Committee.