European Congress of Radiology (ECR)

ECR in General

  • The ECR is an international meeting and one of the leading events in radiology.
  • The ECR is one of the largest medical meetings in Europe and the second-largest radiological meeting in the world.
  • The ECR is held annually in early March.
  • The ECR attendees span all areas of the radiology arena including: radiology professionals, radiographers, physicists, industry representatives, and press reporters for both the medical and consumer press.
  • The next ECR will be held in Vienna, Austria from February 27 – March 3, 2019. The congress venue's address is: Austria Center Vienna, Bruno-Kreisky-Platz 1, 1220 Vienna, Austria


The European Congress of Radiology (ECR) is the annual meeting of the European Society of Radiology (ESR). It is a trend-setting, dynamic and service-oriented congress, well-known as one of the most innovative meetings within the scientific community, embedded in a unique and inspiring ambience.

The next ECR congress will be held from February 27 – March 3, 2019 (Wednesday to Sunday), in Vienna, Austria. 
For more information on ECR meetings and initiatives, see the related sections of this website.

ECR at a glance

ESR President and ECR PPC Chair

2019 Lorenzo E. Derchi Genoa/IT  
2018 Bernd Hamm Berlin/DE  
2017 Paul M. Parizel Antwerp/BE  

ECR Presidents

2016 Katrine Riklund Umea/SE  
2015 Bernd Hamm Berlin/DE  
2014 Valentin Sinitsyn Moscow/RU  
2013 José Ignacio Bilbao Pamplona/ES  
2012 Lorenzo Bonomo Rome/IT  
2011 Yves Menu Paris/FR  
2010 Małgorzata Szczerbo-Trojanowska Lublin/PL  
2009 Borut Marincek Zurich/CH  
2008 Maximilian F. Reiser Munich/DE  
2007 Christian J. Herold Vienna/AT  
2006 Andy Adam London/UK  
2005 Antonio Chiesa Brescia/IT † 2009
2004 Helen M.L. Carty Liverpool/UK † 2017
2003 Nicholas Gourtsoyiannis Iraklion/GR  
2002 Philippe A. Grenier Paris/FR  
2001 Holger Pettersson Lund/SE † 2011
2000 Rolf W. Günther Aachen/DE  
1999 Roberto Passariello Rome/IT † 2013
1997 Hans G. Ringertz Stockholm/SE  
1995 Albert L. Baert Leuven/BE  
1993 Albert L. Baert Leuven/BE  
1991 Josef Lissner Munich/DE † 2006
1987 Maria Emilia Silvestre Lisbon/PT  
1983 Guy Delorme Pessac/FR † 2010
1979 Walter Frommhold Tübingen/DE † 2011
1975 E. Samuel Johannesburg/ZA † 1997
1971 Johann R. Von Ronnen The Hague/NL † 1995
1967 F. Galvez-Armengaud Barcelona/ES † 1975


Future Congresses

Please find below dates and information about future ECRs.


Programme Team



ECR 2019 Programme Team for ECR 2019 Vienna, AT February 27 - March 3, 2019
ECR 2020 Programme Team for ECR 2020 Vienna, AT March 11 - 15, 2020

History of the Congress

European x-ray congresses have been taking place since 1967, the year the European Congress of Radiology was founded by Prof. Boris Rajewsky and Prof. Charles Marie Gros. The event originally took place every four years in different locations, starting in Barcelona, and then followed by Amsterdam, Edinburgh, Hamburg, Bordeaux and Lisbon.

The idea to develop a new type of congress, and introduce a new era in European radiology, became more intensively discussed as the North American congress of Radiology (RSNA) began to represent an increasingly competitive attraction for European radiologists.

The second reason for the ambitious change was a practical and financial consideration, due to the rotating location of the congress and the lack of a consistent group of experienced radiologists with responsibility for the preparation of the congress. The industry and the changing congress landscape were the major driving forces behind these changes.

In 1985, the European Congress of Radiology founded a committee, chaired by Prof. Dr. Josef Lissner, with the specific purpose of congress organisation. It was decided by the committee that the congress should take place every two years and that, if possible, the location should not change.

As the next step, it was determined that the location of the congress should be Vienna, partly due to its geographical location in relation to Eastern European countries, and so the society ‘Verein Europäischer Röntgenkongress (ECR)’ was founded, and a congress-organising institution was established at the Medical Academy of Vienna.

By the end of the 1980s, the Programme Planning Committee had also been founded, comprising 120 European radiologists and chaired by Professors Albert L. Baert, Peter Josef Ell, Jacques Henry, Herwig Imhof, and Paul F.G.M. van Waes.

After several years of developing ideas and concepts, establishing and expanding contacts with the industry and other essential partners, and after tireless efforts from all involved, the first ‘new’ European Congress of Radiology was opened on Saturday, September 15, 1991, under the presidency of Prof. Dr. Lissner. And it turned out to be an enormous success.

Overall, 4,500 radiologists took part, as well as 4,500 technicians and others – a total of 9,000 participants. 98 further training courses were held by 202 European lecturers and 25 non-European speakers, mostly from America, Canada, and Japan.

1991 was also the year that marked the formal establishment of the ECR Office in Vienna, which henceforth has been the official organiser of the European Congress of Radiology.

The two year cycle of the congress was continued until 1999, when it was decided that the rapid development of the medical specialty of radiology required an annual meeting of Europe’s radiological community and all its partners.

The European Congress of Radiology has continued to evolve and refine itself ever since. It is now the largest radiological meeting in Europe, attracting more than 21,000 participants from over 100 countries and boasting an impressive scientific and educational programme that includes 1,500 oral scientific presentations and around 3,000 electronic poster presentations in EPOS™.

Past Congresses

The Past Congresses section allows you to access the scientific programmes and participation statistics, including the books of abstracts, of the previous ECR congresses.

More information

Is there anything we can help you with?

Contact us or see our FAQs in case of any questions.